EU Trade Helpdesk

Given that the European Union (EU) is the world's largest common market, many entrepreneurs from around the world, including Ukraine, seek to export their products to the EU. However, sometimes potential exporters lack information on how to export in accordance with EU regulations and requirements.

The EU Trade Helpdesk is an online service created by the European Commission specifically to help entrepreneurs from developing countries to get free access to information about the conditions of export to the EU.

The EU Trade Helpdesk is actually an online resource where users can find online information about the terms of trade with the EU, in particular regarding the existing duties, preferential trade agreements, statistics, other specific product requirements and the like.

As commonly known, the EU is a customs Union. That is, the duty on goods moved between EU member States is not paid, whereas for third EU partner countries it means that:

  • all EU member States apply the common customs tariff for goods imported from outside the EU;
  • goods that have been legally imported into the EU can be distributed throughout the community without any other customs checks.

Customs territory of the EU includes the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom of great Britain and Northern Ireland

The EU customs area also includes such territories (including their territorial waters, inland sea waters and airspace): the Principality of Monaco, the military bases of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, which form the British overseas territory in Cyprus.